5/18 – Game 1 vs. Indians

What a game! Jake Peavy with a complete game, three-hit shutout. Those two strikeouts in the ninth inning were insane. I groaned when I heard Matt Thornton was warming up in the top of the ninth inning, but then when Peavy came out I was relieved.  I knew that if he came out to pitch the ninth inning he would finish it off and sure enough he got the job done. Definitely the best he’s looked in a Sox uniform. I’m considering adding this to the Games of the Year list.

Our only run came on an Adam Dunn sacrifice fly in the bottom of the first inning. From then on Justin Masterson and Jake Peavy were in an all-out pitchers’ duel. Masterson finished with eight strikeouts, Peavy with seven. Masterson allowed five hits, Peavy three. Masterson walked two but Peavy maintained a zero in that column. So glad that The Project could bust us out of this home slump we’ve been going through. Crazy game! Well done, Jake!

Despite squandering two scoring chances there wasn’t much I had a problem with in this game. Brent Lillibridge definitely made a game-saving catch in the bottom of the eighth inning, covering a lot of ground on his way to left-center field to make a sliding catch on the warning track. Is there anything this kid can’t do?

No Bullpen Points tonight as Ozzie had no need to call upon someone. As much as I like giving out points I like not needing to even more.

Tomorrow Fausto Carmona (3-3, 3.94) will go for the Indians and Gavin Floyd (4-3, 4.22) will pitch for the Good Guys.

Go Sox!!

6 comments

  1. Keleigh

    The utility player hoedown appeared to be a success! I am so happy the video of Lillibridge went up on MLB.com. I was sad to miss it.

      • Keleigh

        Maybe! I didn’t get a chance to see it with my own eyes, but there really seemed to be a lot of amazing stuff. But, I think Jake Peavy alone probably makes it worthy. I really don’t think ANYONE saw that coming.

      • Anders

        I think it’s deserving. If Floyd’s eight inning shutout got one I have to add Peavy’s complete game shutout.

Leave a Reply

